The Air Signs of the Zodiac are Gemini, Libra & Aquarius.

Let’s look to understand the intellect and cooperation of Air signs and their dominant element, Air.

The element of Air attaches to the signs Gemini, Libra and Aquarius. It also rules the Third, Seventh and Eleventh Houses. It is rarefied air that usually surrounds those graced by this Element. It is as a mark of the intellectual. Zodiac Air sign people are smart thinkers and handle abstract reasoning well. They love to analyse, synthesise and probe. So if you have a dilemma, hand it over to an Air sign and watch them go to work.

Note: You do not have to be one of the air sign to exhibit traits associated with air. For example, you could have someone who is a Scopio, but maybe has 4 or 5 planets in Libra, and could still exhibit many air qualities, even though Scorpio is a water sign.

Air Element Overview.

Signs: The air signs are Gemini, Libra and Aquarius

Houses: The air element rules the 3rd, 7th and 11th Houses.

Light Traits: Articulate, mentally clear, understanding, socially adept, cooperative

Shadow Traits: Unemotional, lacking in sympathy, over-adaptive, abstracted, hyperactive

Air Element Representation

Air Signs are about communication. These individuals want to get the word out, and it’s not likely to be fluff. They are alert, curious and perceptive. Those influenced by Air energy are inventive and intelligent.  The world as seen by an Air sign will be an interesting one, as their analysis and subsequent explanation (hopefully in terms we can understand) will indicate.

They see all sides of an equation and can glean the best approach. Balance is essential to these airy folks. While these folks are often calm and collected, they can turn cold if their equilibrium is upset.  So, are Air signers fresh as a summer breeze, or are they howling like the wind? Probably both, depending on when you catch them.

A word of caution to the wise:

There is little upside in baiting or goading an Air sign. Another plus with Air is that it manifests itself most humanely. Those influenced by Air can honestly wear another’s shoes as it were. They are objective, cooperative and want to help make a better world. There’s no prejudice against these folks,  just a bright and shiny idealism that can

High Air Personality

  • a strong emphasis on rational and logical thought, ideas and intellectual pursuits
  • detachment and a sense of objectivity and fairmindedness
  • mental agility when communicating and expressing ideas
  • more concern with theory than with the application
  • a tendency to be people-oriented but inclined towards the group rather than the individual
  • varied interests which lead to a lifelong search for knowledge


  • to ground ideas in reality
  • to visualise a practical use for their ideas
  • to guard against fast thinking and impractical dreaming
  • to allow space for emotional development and interaction


  • an inability to communicate effectively or clearly, communication can be enigmatic and obscure
  • self-consciousness associated with circumstances that point to incoherent communication
  • difficulty learning when the goal does not have an immediate and tangible end
  • enhanced ability to communicate emotionally, physically or psychically


  • to learn adaptability and the use of the mental functions in a creative manner
  • to view issues in a more objective manner
  • to define and visualise alternatives and objectives
  • to get to plan ahead expand horizons of general interests

The Zodiac Air Signs – An Overview

So now that we have discussed the air element. As mentioned, there are the three air signs. Let’s take a little look at them in a bit more detail.


The first air sign, Gemini is the most flighty, like the wind that forms a dust devil, picking up debris, swirling with it and then letting it go, exploring off to another region. When forced to slow down, it cannot for long and does not know what to do, marked by the known Gemini trait of indecisiveness.

Gemini never feels complete and the Gemini, the sign of duality is always on the search for something, trying to find that one person or thing that will complete them. Gemini is the sign of communication; they want to know everybody and everything, like the wind that flows forever along the land, surrounding every nook possible on the way.


Libra represents air. Not moving, but the air that circulates, that we need to breathe. Bringing harmony, life and balance to the world. Libra wants to be peaceful and essential to the lives of everyone they touch, just like air. Libra wants to form relationships of balance, I give you air, you give me life. Relationships are important to the Libra sign.


Aquarius is the last and the highest air element. Aquarius is the powerful force that makes the world go around, like the jet stream. It has the power to change areas, and it does, Aquarius is the sign of change and originality. Aquarius seeks to understand and to knock down of barriers, like the jet stream that circulates air from one corner of the world to the other necessarily uniting everyone and everything.

Aquarius is very unpredictable and erratic, seeking the truth from way up above the rest of the world, Aquarius is the most advanced thinker of the zodiac like the jet stream is the highest above. Aquarius concerns itself with advancing civilization and the future of mankind.